W.C. “Pete” Wall, Jr.

W.C. “Pete” Wall, Jr. age 82, and a resident of Morton died Tuesday, July 2, 2019 in Morton following an extended illness.

Funeral services were conducted at 11 a.m. Saturday, July 6, 2019 at the chapel of the Ott & Lee Funeral Home in Morton with interment following at Springfield Cemetery.  Rev. Rick Hammarstrom officiated.  Visitation was held from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. Friday and 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Saturday.

Mr. Wall was born on  Saturday, January 9, 1937 in Epps, LA to his parents; Rev.Waltar C. Wall, Sr. and Lozelle Risher Wall. He served  his country  in the United States Army. Pete later married Jessie Jo Garner. They  moved to the Mississippi Gulf Coast where they lived in Pascagoula. 

Pete joined the Pascagoula Police Dept. where he  served on the Motorcycle  Division until his retirement. He  and his wife and children returned to Scott County.   Pete served as the Scott County Sheriff from 1976-1980 when he retired from law enforcement.  During his tenure as Sheriff, he was involved with the Mississippi Sheriff's Association and  served on the board of the Mississippi Sheriff’s Association Boys and Girls Ranch. He later worked for Ott & Lee Funeral Insurance. He was a member of Springfield Baptist Church.

Pete enjoyed  listening to gospel music, loved the outdoors, loved to hunt, fish and  enjoyed his saw mill. He was a wonderful man who never met a stranger and was always willing to help anyone he  knew needed help.  He was a man of great faith, and was honest and trustworthy. Pete   loved his family and being around  people.  He will be greatly missed by all who knew and loved him.

He was preceded in death by his parents, brothers; O’Neal Wall and Houston Wall, a sister; Cleola “Sis” Latham and his wife, Jessie Jo Wall.

Survivors include his  two children, Doug Wall (Kathy) of Madison, MS.  Donna Lott (Richie) of Brandon, MS.  Three sisters; Lazelle Manning of Morton, MS.  Peggy Kimes (Tom) of Florence, MS.  Billie Irby (John Robert) of Morton and one brother, Danny Wall (Lillian) of Pascagoula, MS.

Pallbearers were members of the Scott County Sheriff’s Dept. Honorary pallbearers were Tim Wall, Raymond Latham, Ricky Latham, Kenny Latham, David Latham, Stan Sullivan and Donovan Irby.

Pictured above, local law enforcement members came together on July 6 to pay their last respects for former Scott County Sheriff Pete Wall. Pictured front row from left are, Michael Manning, Jimmy Nichols, Nicky Crapps, Brady Chamblee, Donald Simpson and SCSO Chaplan Kenny Lang. Back row, Willie Anderson, Butch Lingle, Sammy Lovette and Pete Lingle.