Today's Top Stories

As the COVID-19 virus continues to infect more and more Mississippians — including at least three presumed positive coronavirus cases in Scott County at press time Tuesday — area businesses, gover
The East Central Community College Board of Trustees has named college alumnus Dr. Brent Gregory as the ninth president of the two-year institution in Decatur.
At a recent meeting of Pi Chapter Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, Jamie O'Cain was presented the Pi Chapter Grant-In-Aid.
These area educators recently attended the annual High School Counselors’ Workshop at East Central Community College in Decatur, where they were provided information on academic transfer, career-t
Freshman pre-dental major Olivia Adams, center, of Philadelphia was crowned East Central Community College’s Most Beautiful 2020 at the college’s annual beauty pageant March 9 in Huff Auditorium o


Scott County residents appeared to have dodged the bullet once again in the early morning hours of March 11 when a strong line of severe weather swept through central Mississippi leaving a path of damage from one side of the county to the other. Although there were plenty of downed trees and roof damage, no bodily harm was reported.

Official Visit

Mississippi Secretary of State Michael Watson was in Forest last week to discuss absentee balloting and the Tuesday Primary Election with election officials.

Cross your fingers


We sprung our clocks ahead an hour Friday night — or I should say I sprung ‘em — to avoid the early-week fatigue from losing an hour of sleep but it didn’t help. Six o’clock still seemed like 5:00 a.m. to me on Monday morning.

johnson Wins Again

Larry Robinson, Jr. of Forest recently won his 6th Overall Run Thru History Walk title. The annual event held on March 7 in Vicksburg’s Military Park drew over 700 participants.

Forest Garden Club News

The Southern District Flower Show is March 24 in Meridian. Forest Garden Club will be represented by nine ladies entering 13 different designs: Faye Hegwood, Vickie Hester, Judy Woods, Latasha Wilkerson, Jean Smith. Mary Harris, Trudy Alexander, Karen Ingle and Lynne Wood. Other members will bring horticulture entries.