Statewide slate of candidates finalized

With the March 1 passing of the qualifying deadline for this year’s statewide elections, the field is now set and campaigning is in full force. Current Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant serving his final term there is a wide open field to fill that position as well as shift among incumbents in other statewide offices and district offices serving Scott County.

The candidate list includes:

For Governor, Republicans, Robert Foster, Tate Reeves, and Bill Waller, Jr. Democrats, Michael Brown, William Bond Compton, Jr., Jim Hood, Robert J. Ray, Robert Shuler Smith, Gregory Wash, Phillip “Bucket” West, Velesha P. Williams, Albert Wilson. Independent, David R. Singletary.

For Lt. Governor: Republicans Delbert Hosemann and Shane Quick. Democrats, Jay Hughes.

For Secretary of State, Republicans Sam Britton and Michael Watson. Democrats, Johnny DuPree and Maryra Hodges Hunt.

For State Treasurer, Republicans Eugene S. “Buck” Clarke and David McRae. Democrat, Addie Lee Green.

For Attorney General, Republicans Mark Baker, Lynn Fitch, and Andy Taggart. Democrat, Jennifer Riley Collins.

For State Auditor, Republican Incumbent Shad White is unopposed.

For Insurance Commissioner, Republican Incumbent, Mike Chaney and Democrat, Robert E. Amos.

For Commissioner of Agriculture & Commerce, Republican Incumbent Andy Gipson and Democrat Rickey L. Cole.

For Transportation Commissioner Central District, Republicans, Butch Lee and Ricky Pennington, Jr. Democrats, Marcus L. Wallace and Willie L. Simmons.

For Public Service Commissioner Central District, Republicans, Brent Bailey and Nic Lott. Democrats, Dorothy “Dot” Benford, Ryan Brown, Bruce Burton and De’Keither A. Stamps.

For District Attorney, District 8, Steven S. Kilgore.

For State Senate, District 31 Incumbent Terry C. Burton is not seeking re-election. The Republican candidates are, Hampton Gardner and Tyler McCaughn, District. On the Democratic ticket is Mike Marlow.

For House of Representatives, District 75, Republican Vance Cox and Democrat Incumbent Tom Miles. District 78, Republican Incumbent Randy Rushing and Democrat Joe C. Bradford.



This pandemic quarantine business has taken a toll on man and beast alike it seems. One specific... READ MORE


A tribute to Iris Evans Mabry – Mother went home to be with her Lord and Savior on May 8, 2020 at... READ MORE


Josh and Courtney Jo Weaver of Nanih Waiya are proud to announce the birth of their daughter,... READ MORE