Morton News


Announcements: The last We Care Mission Food Distribution for the month of January is Friday, January 19 from 10:00 a.m.-noon from the Fellowship Hall of Morton United Methodist Church, 29 Church Street.

Don’t forget the Morton Chamber of Commerce Banquet at Morton Activities Center on Thursday, January 25 beginning at 7:00 p. m.  Tickets are $15. each and may be purchased from Chamber members, some local businesses and the Chamber office on Tuesday and Thursday.

Congratulations to: Bro. Marty Wilson on his call to serve First Baptist Church of Morton as pastor of the congregation where he and his wife Debbie have held membership for several years.  Commission Day ceremonies for the couple were held on Sunday, January 7.  Also, a surprise celebration of Bro. Marty's birthday was held following the evening service complete with cake and other treats.

To: Zach Irby on placing eighth in the National Poultry Cookout Contest held in Louisville, Kentucky.  Representing the Scott county 4-H, he competed on the county, and state level in 2017 and plans to compete again this year and improve his placing at the National competition.

To: Those Scott County MHV members/clubs receiving awards/monetary rewards in recognition of their hard work during the 2017 Club Year.  These were presented at the annual MHV Awards Luncheon on Friday, January 12 at the MSU Extension Service facility. Awards were as follows: Service Pins: Five Year - Lodena Holifield (Cluster Club); Ten Year - Jennie Ruth Patrick (Morton), Arlene Smith (Harperfield) and Minnie Jean Risher (Morton); Fifteen Year - Kathy Warren (Morton) and Thirty Year - Sammie Jean Webb (Harperville). Reading Certificates for those members reading at least six good books in 2017: Cluster Club - Ester Perry, Dessaree Bradford, Carolyn Macon and Dorothy Strong; Harperville - Judith Gatewood, Jo Marler, Joan Shepherd, Arlene Smith; Morton - Betsy Comfort, Bobbie Hodges, Mae Lee, Jennie Patrick, Frisky Roland, Shirley Sawyer, Kathy Warren, Helen Watkins. Secretary Book Recognition - First Place (Morton), Second Place (Harperville), Third Place (Cluster).  Scrapbook Award - Morton, Homemaker Hall of Fame - Cluster-Connie Stewart, Harperville - Arlene Smith, Morton - Frisky Roland, Ringgold - Donna Tucker (posthumously). Homemaker of the Year - Shirley Sawyer, Morton and Scott County Council.  Scott County MHV Club of the Year - Morton.

Prayers and concern for:  Bennie Ware, Troy Jackson of Louisiana (uncle of Mark Palmer), Stites Easterling, Carlton Hall, Peggy Barnes, Derick Hudson, Bennett Arthur Massey and continued concern for Buddy Lovett, Jim Ott, Peggy Risher and those in California impacted by the floods and mudslides following the forest fires.

Sympathy to the families of:  Bro. J. C. “Rabb” Stewart, Kimberly Giles Miles, Johnny Earl Phillips, Doris Hydrick, Ricky Myers, Grace Seals Renfroe, Bobby Smith, Carolyn Jean “CJ” Williams, Dick Sawyer and William D. Nutt.

Travelin’, visitin’ and such:  Anita Webb was among more than 100 Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation members participating in the American Farm Bureau Federation Conference held at the Gaylord Opryland Convention Center in Nashville, Tennessee. This was the 99th Annual Conference and featured keynote speakers including Reba McIntyre and President Donald Trump. More than 5,000 attended where American Farm Bureau is the Voice of Agriculture and presented cutting edge workshops and speakers to give talks and demos on Farming and Ag related topics.

Those Morton MHV club members attending the MHV Awards Luncheon, recognizing volunteer activities in the 2017 Club Year were:  Bobbie Hodges, Mae Lee, Betty Jo Lewis, Jennie Ruth Patrick, Ann Rector, Frisky Roland, Shirley Sawyer,  Kathy Warren and Helen Watkins.  They enjoyed a delicious meal catered by Ann Cahoon and served by the MSU Extension Service staff, Anita Webb, Jason Hurdle and Liz Easterling.Following presentation of the Awards, an Installation Ceremony of 2018 Scott County Council Officers was directed by County Agent/Program Coordinator, Anita Webb. She used the Luncheon Theme- “Scott County MHV Members are Painting the Way to the Future” by presenting all incoming officers with a colored marker representing the color of their office.  Parliamentarian-Sammie Jean Webb-Gold, Secretary-Kathy Warren-Blue, Treasurer-Helen Watkins-Green, Vice President-Frisky Roland-Orange and President-Shirley Sawyer-Red.